Search

Thursday, 14 October 2010 03:00

Playground Licensing Requirements Featured

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

 

 

 

State

 

Information

Alabama

The state requires a Specialty Contractors License along with providing 4 references: Bank, Material Supplier, Architect, and Contractor. Contractors need to meet with the Alabama Board and complete a financial packet. Contact them at  (800) 356-6361 or online at www.genconbd.alabama.gov  Updated 3/2012

Alaska

The Alaska Division of Occupational Licensing requires a general contractors license, insurance, workers compensation, and a surety bond. Phone: 907-465-8444  or online at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/pcon.htm  Updated 3/2012

Arizona

The Arizona Register of Contractors state requires a Playground Contractors License along with writing detailed letter to Chief of Licensing, Allan Felber, requesting license and Bond must be done. Next you must pass an exam given by the Arizona Register of Contractors. Phone: 602-542-1525  Website: http://www.azroc.gov  Updated 3/2012

Arkansas

The state requires a Building Contracting License for Recreational Equipment and another classification for Recreational Surfaces. Contact the State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board at (501) 373-4661 or online at www.state.ar.us/clb   Updated 3/2012

California

The California State Contractors Board requires a A - General Engineering Contractor licens and/or a Specialty Contractor Classification such as;  C-61 Limited Specialty, and the following D-34 Prefabricated Equipment, D-24 Metal Products (Bleachers),  D-12 Synthetic Products (Turf, Surfacing),  Business Law Exam must be completed, references are required, bonding and insurance, Tax Id #, and Financial Statements are required to complete the application.   Phone: 1-800-321-2752 Web: www.cslb.ca.gov.  Update 3/2012

 The California Playground Safety Regulations Revision Bill passed on August 22, 2006 and was signed by Governor Schwarzenegger on September 26, 2006  Congratulations CPRS!   Compliance becomes mandatory on January 1, 2008 but in many cases it may be advantageous to comply earlier.  To view the final bill, follow the link to AB 1144.  The three most significant changes are: 1.     Playgrounds open to the public built by a public agency or any other entity shall conform to the playground related standards set forth by the American Society for Testing and Materials and the playground related guidelines set forth by the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission.  

ASTM Playground Related Specifications include the most current version of:  F 1292 Standards for Surface Impact Attenuation,   F 1918 Specifications for Soft Contained Play Equipment (Typically found in Fast Food Restaurants),   F 1951 Standards for Surface Accessibility  F 1487 Standards for Playground Equipment for Children between 2 years and 12 years old · F 2049 Standards for Playground Fencing (Fencing is not required but if you do use a fence, it must comply) ,  F 2075 Standards for Engineered Wood Fiber,  F 2223 Standard guide for selecting Playground Surfacing  F 2373 Standards for Playground Equipment for Children between 6 months and 23 months old. CPSC Playground Related Guidelines include CPSC Handbook for Playground Safety Publication #325-97.  A new version of this handbook is currently being developed and will be included when it is adopted. 2. The definition of a playground is changed to mean an improved outdoor area designed, equipped, and set aside for children's play that is not intended for use as an athletic playing field or athletic court, and shall include any playground equipment, fall zones, surface materials, access ramps, and all areas within and including the designated enclosure and barriers.  References to landforms, fences, benches etc have been removed. 3 All public agencies operating playgrounds and all other entities operating playgrounds open to the public shall have a playground safety inspector, certified by the National Playground Safety Institute, conduct an initial inspection for the purpose of aiding compliance with the requirements set forth in subdivision.  This eliminates the reference to a manufacturer certified playground installer.  An installer may certify that play equipment is in compliance only if the installer is a CPSI. 

Colorado

The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies indicated there is No state license required, check Local County planning board. Phone: 303-894-7855 Website: http://www.dora.state.co.us Updated 3/2012

Connecticut

The State of Connecticut Dept of Consumer Protection indicated there is No license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 1-860-713-6100 Website: www.ct.gov/dcp  The State of Connecticut has adopted CPCS into Law, effective January 1, 1997. The Regulations of Connecticut State Agency adopted the CPSC Handbook for Public Playground Safety as guidelines for Connecticut.  Updated 3/2012

Delaware

The State of Delaware now require a contractor’s license which are issued for a one year period, expiring on Dec 31, for a fee of $124.00.  If contractor is a non-resident they must file with Division of Revenue.   Contact them at 302-577-8264 or check them out at www.revenue.delaware.gov Updated 3/2012

District of Columbia

Commercial contractors must contact them to register company and no general contractors license is required. Residential Contractors must contact Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs at 202-442-4320 to get a Contractor’s License and register company with Office of Tax and Revue at 202-727-4829. Website:  http://www.dcra.dc.gov  Updated 3/2012

Florida

 

The Department of Business and Professional Regulation - The Construction Industry Licensing Board requires that contractors complete an application, and must pass a written exam covering business, finance and construction subject with a passing grade of 70%. Applicants must document four years of experience, as well as provide a credit report and a financial statement, not more that twelve months old.  A net worth ranging from $2500 to $20,000 depending on classification is required.  Renewal is good for a two year period. Application processing time average is 30 days.  Fourteen hours of continuing education are required for each two-year renewal cycle.  Phone: 850-487-1395 or visit them @ www.state.fl.us/dbpr/pro/cilb/cil_index.shtml  Updated 3/2012

Georgia

The Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board does not license general contractors or specialty contractors such as playground contractors. In order to do business in this state, you will need to contact the local city or county where work is to be performed. Phone: 478- 207-2440 Website: www.sos.ga.gov/plb/construct  Updated 3/2012

Hawaii

The state requires a “B” General Building Contractor, or the C-25 Institutional and commercial Equipment contractor. Contact the State of Hawaii Professional; and Vocational Licensing Division at (808) 586-2700 ww.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl  Updated 3/2012

Idaho

The state requires a specialty license for installation of School Playground Equipment 02880, Athletic & Recreational Surfacing license 02790 and Aquatic Recreational Equipment 13165. Contact the Idaho Contractors Board at 208-334-3233 or  www.ibol.idaho.gov   Also must register with Idaho Public Works at 208-334-4057 or online at www.dbs.idaho.gov/publicworks  Updated 3/2012

Illinois

Illinois Department of Transportation - Construction Department indicates there is No State license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Business License and Bonding is required. Phone: 217-782-7820 Website: http://www.dot.il.gov Updated 3/2012

Indiana

The State of Indiana Certification Board indicated there is No State license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 800-457-8283 or http://www.in.gov Updated 3/2012

Iowa

The state requires Contractors Registration, also you must obtain an Iowa employer account number and request application from the Iowa Division of Labor/ Contractor Registration at 515-242-5871or online at www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm  Updated 3/2012

Kansas

No state license is required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue at 785-368-8222 or online at www.ksrevenue.com Updated 3/2012

Kentucky

No state license is required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Contact the Department of Housing, Building & Construction at (502) 573-0364 or online at   /plb/plblic.htmwww.dhbc.ky.gov  Updated 3/2012

Louisiana

The State Licensing Board for Contractors indicates that the classification of  "Construction of Recreational Facilities"  of an contractor engages in the construction of such facilities must be licensed if the job cost, material and labor meets or exceeds $50,000.    Phone: 225-765-2301 or online at  www.lslbc.louisiana.gov  Updated 13/2012

Maine

The Department of Professional Financial Regulations & Licensing indicates there is No state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 207-624-8603 or online at www.maineprofessionalreg.org  Updated 3/2012

Maryland

 

The Occupational & Professional Licensing Board indicates there is No State license required. there is no contractor’s license required for the state of Maryland. However, if a playground contractor installs a permanent structure in a residential area then they need contact Maryland Home Improvement Commission for licensing information. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 410-230-6001  or online at www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic Updated 3/2012

Massachusetts

The Department of Public Safety indicated there is No state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 617-727-3200  or check online at www.mass.gov/dps  Updated 3/2012

Michigan

The Department of Labor & Economic Growth indicates there is No State License required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 517-241-8376  Website: www.michigan.gov/builders.  The State of Michigan has adopted CPCS into Law, effective May 1, 1998.  The Playground Equipment Safety Act adopts the CPSC Handbook for Public Playground Safety and ASTM F1487-93 as Michigan Standards. /builders.  

Michigan Child Care Licensing Rules require that playgrounds at child care centers comply with the 1997 Edition of the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s Handbook for Public Playground Safety. One of the ways centers can show compliance with that rule is to have a playground inspection by a certified playground safety inspector. To do inspections for centers, inspectors must be on the list of inspectors approved by the Child Care Licensing Division. To be added to the approved list, inspectors need to attend a mandatory meeting.  Colleen Nelson, LMSW DHS, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing PO Box 30650 Lansing, MI 48909 Phone: (517) 335-6226 or Fax: (517) 335-6121  Updated 3/2012

Minnesota

The Minnesota Department of Labor indicates there is no state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 651-284-5069 or online at www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp  Udpated 3/2012

Mississippi

The Mississippi State Board of Contractors requires a General Contractors licenses and a Specialty License. Along with a completed application you must submit, financial statements, bonding, liability insurance, workers compensation, Tax Id#, and take a exam. Phone: 1-800-880-6161 or online at www.msboc.us   Updated 3/2012

Missouri

No state license is required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Contact the Department of Labor and  Industrial Relations Division of Labor Standards at (573) 751-3403 or online at www.labor.mo.gov Updated 3/2012

Montana

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry- Employment Relations Division - Contractor Registration Unit, requires a contractor registration, also you must obtain worker's compensation, Tax Id#, and references. Phone: 406-444-7734 Fax: 406-444-3465 Website: http://erd.dli.state.mt.us/wcregs/mtcontractor.asp Updated 3/2012

Nebraska

The Nebraska Workforce Development - Nebraska Department of Labor requires contractors to register. Worker's compensation insurance coverage and unemployment insurance coverage with Nebraska Workforce Development Dept. Along with application you must submit, financial statements, bonding, liability insurance, Tax ID#, and references. Web: www.dol.state.ne.us Non-residential contractors must register with Department of Revenue @ www.revenue.ne.gov Updated 3/2012

Nevada

 The state requires a C-25: Fencing and equipping playgrounds.  Application is available online at www.nvcontractorsboard.com Phone: (702) 486-1100  Updated 3/2012

New Hampshire

No state license is required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations.  Must register as Foreign Corporation. Contact (603) 271-3246 or online at www.sos.nh.gov/corporate/index.html  Updated 3/2012

New Jersey

The Department of Law & Public Safety indicated there is no state licensing required. However, The State of New Jersey - Department of Labor & Workforce Development requires contractors to register for a Public Works Contractors Register at:   The New Jersey State Department of Treasury requires Contractors to register at http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/dpmc/deputy.html.  The Department of Property Management and Construction requires contractors to register at http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/dpmc/property_management.html.  Dept of Law and Public Safety Phone: (973) 504-6420 Fax: (973) 648-3355. Website: www.state.nj.us . The State of New Jersey has adopted CPCS into Law, effective October 18, 1999. The S206 Act concerning playground safety and supplementing the State Uniform Construction Code Act, has adopted the CPSC Handbook for Public Playground Safety or any successor as mandatory New Jersey Standards for all new Playgrounds. For existing playgrounds, they require compliance with surfacing guidelines by October 18, 2004 for all owners and set October 18, 2007 as date for equipment compliance for public and privately owned playgrounds.  Not -for-public agencies have until October 18, 2014 to comply with equipment guidelines.  Updated 3/2012

New Mexico

The New Mexico Construction Industries Division Regulation and Licensing Department- requires a GF-5 Recreation Areas (fixed works- requires 2 years Experience) or GB-98 - Building Construction (general builder, requires four years experience), take an exam along with submitting bonding, workers compensation, liability insurance and tax id#. Phone: 505-476-4700  Website: http://www.rld.state.nm.us Updated 3/2012

New York

The New York State Department of Labor- Division of Safety & Health-Licensing and Certification Unit - indicates there is no state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 518-457-9000 Fax: 518-485-8530 Website: http://www.labor.state.ny.us New York has a Playground Law.  Check out the link: www.consumer.state.ny.us/playground_safety.htmLook for General Business Law 339-dd. The effective dates was July 1, 2007. It has a fine of $1000.00 for non compliance. Updated 3/2012

North Carolina

The North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors requires a General Contractors License for work over $30,000, Effective May 1, 2006. . Along with application, you must submit financial statements, bonding, liability insurance, tax id#, references and take an exam.  Web: www.nclbgc.com P: 919-571-4183 Updated 3/2012

North Dakota

The state requires a General Contractors license for work over $2000.00. Contact the Secretary of State of North Dakota at 701-328-3665 or online at www.nd.gov/sos  Updated 3/2012

Ohio

The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board indicates there is No State license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations.  P: 614-644-3493 Web: www.com.ohio.gov  Updated 3/2012

Oklahoma

The Oklahoma State Dept of Health - Construction Industries Board indicates there is no state license required. Jurisdiction is the responsibility of each incorporated municipality in the state as well as the office of the State Fire Marshall in both incorporated municipality. Must register with Secretary of State as a corporation at 405-522-4560 and Register with Tax Commission at 405-521-3160. Oklahoma State Tax Commission - Website:  http://www.oktax.state.ok.us  Updated 3/2012

Oregon

The Oregon Construction Contractors Board requires a General Contractors License, also  you must provide a bond, liability insurance, financial statements, Tax id#, and take a Oregon business practice and regulation course with an exam. Web: www.oregon.gov/ccb P: (503) 378-4621.
E-mail:
Darla.F.Pack@state.or.us This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
   Updated 3/2012

Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania Dept of State - Bureau of Professional and Occupational Licensing indicates there is no state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinance and regulation. Phone: 717-783-7193 Fax: 717-787-7769 Website: http://www.dos.state.pa.us Updated 3/2012

Rhode Island

No state license is required.  Rhode Island Contractors Registration & Licensing Board indicates that only residential contractors are required to register. Contact Rhode Island Contractors Registration & Licensing Board at (401) 222-1268 or online at www.crb.state.ri.us   Updated 3/2012

South Carolina

The South Carolina Contractors Licensing Board indicates there is No State license required. Must register with South Carolina Residential Builders Commission. Contact County or City where work is to be performed for regulations.  However, for Bleacher seating a general contractors license is required.
P: 803-896-4613 www.llr.state.sc.us  Updated 3/2012

South Dakota

The South Dakota Dept of Revenue and Regulation indicated there is no state license required. Contact county of city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 605-773-3284 Fax: 605-773-5129 Website: http://www.state.sd.us Updated 3/2012

Tennessee

The Board of Licensing Contractors requires a  BC-7 Institutional/Recreational Equipment Installers or a Full BC License Contractors for work over $25,000 . License. Business Law exam is required. P: 800-544-7693 Web: http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/ contractors  Updated 3/2012

Texas

The Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation indicated there is no state license required. Contact county of city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. Phone: 512-463-6599 Fax: 512-475-2871 Website: http://www.license.state.tx.us The State of Texas has adopted CPCS into Law, effective August 28, 1995.  The Playgrounds/Playground Equipment Standards Public Funds Act has amended the Health & Safety Code (Sec. 1, Chap. 756) by adding subchapter E: Publicly Funded Playground; When public funds are used, the equipment, installation and surfacing must meet the CPSC Handbook for Public Playground Safety.  Updated 3/2012

Utah

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing requires a B-100 and a S-500, also, you must have 2-year experience in the playground industry and pass a business and law exam. Phone: 801-530-6628 Website: http://www.dopl.utah.gov Updated 3/2012

Vermont

The Vermont Dept of Labor & Industry indicates there is no state license required. However, you must obtain a business license with the Contractor Registration Division at 800-647-0982. Fax: 802-828-2195 Website: http://www.vermont.gov  Updated 3/2012

Virginia

The state requires a class “C” license and the Recreational Facility (RFC) Specialty/Classification.  Contact Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulations at (804) 367-8500 or online at www.dpor.virginia.gov  Updated 3/2012

Washington

The Department of Labor & Industries - Specialty Compliance Services Division requires a General Contractor License and a Master Business License with the Contractor Registration Division.  Along with completed application you must submit bonding, liability insurance and a tax id#. P: 360-902-5571 Web: www.lni.wa.gov/tradeslicensing/contractors    Updated 3/2012

West Virginia

The West Virginia Division of Labor Contractor Licensing Board requires a Specialty License for work over $1,000. Along with complete application you must submit, bonding, references, tax id#, and take an exam P: 304-558-7890.  Web: www.labor.state.wv.us  Updated 3/2012

 

Wisconsin

 

According to the state no person or entity may engage in a construction business or offer to engage in a construction business that affects public buildings, places of employment and one—and two– family dwellings, public swimming pools and water attractions unless the person or entity holds a registration issued by the department as a registered building contractor.   Class code: 7644    State of Wisconsin Department of Commerce-Credentialing. P: 608-261-8467 https://apps.commerce.wi.gov/credential-online-application. Updated 3/2012

Wyoming

The Department of Transportation Prequalification Officer Construction Division indicates there is NO state license required. Contact county or city where work is to be performed for ordinances and regulations. P: 3.7-777-4375 Web: www.dot.state.wy.us  Updated 3/2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read 100837 times Last modified on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 12:02
More in this category: « NPCAI Mission
Login to post comments